Property Crime Penalties

Charges for crimes related to property range from a misdemeanor to a Class A felony level. The law firm of Jones, Hawkins, & Associates, in Montgomery, is aware that a well-planned and executed defense by an attorney can make a difference when you are facing criminal charges.

Call our skilled attorneys to discuss your defense at 334-625-1754.

Types Of Property Crimes

Property offenses involve the taking or damaging of property, but not charges involving taking property through force or with the use of a weapon. Here are the different categories of property offenses and their penalties.

Criminal Mischief

Vandalism is called criminal mischief under Alabama codes and falls in both felony and misdemeanor categories. Here is how charges are divided:

  • First degree (more than $2,500 in damage): Class C felony
  • Second degree (between $501 and $2,500 in damage): Class A misdemeanor
  • Third degree (less than $500 dollars in damage): Class B misdemeanor

Theft And Burglary

In Alabama, the theft category of property crimes also includes shoplifting. Here are the penalties for first- to third-degree theft offenses:

  • First degree (theft of property worth more than $2,500): two to 20 years in jail and possibility of a fine of up to $30,000
  • Second degree (theft of items worth between $500 and $2,500): between one and 10 years of incarceration and an up to $15,000 fine
  • Third degree (theft of goods worth up to $500): up to one year of incarceration and possibility of a fine up to $6,000

Burglary crimes have the added element of unlawfully entering a building to commit a crime, and all are felonies. Third-degree burglaries are Class C felonies, and Class A and B burglary felonies involve a weapon, threats of injury or actually harming bystanders.

Arson

Starting a fire intentionally to damage or destroy a structure has a variety of charges, depending on the circumstances of the crime. For example, a charge of first-degree arson, a Class A felony, is given in the instance of someone knowingly setting fire to a structure that has a person in it. In contrast, if the person setting the fire is the sole owner of the structure, the crime is arson in the third degree, which is a Class A misdemeanor.

Take Action

When the stakes are high, you need an advocate in your corner who will defend your rights. Give Jones, Hawkins, & Associates a call at 334-625-1754 or schedule a lawyer consultation by using this online form.